Balancing Acts!

man-carrying-pile-of-booksWe all have seasons in our lives when life feels full. Times when it feels like you’re carrying a pile of books, with more being added to the top of the pile. Those times when the pile is feeling  somewhat precarious and the skill required to maintain the balancing act, to simply make it to your destination, without them toppling out your hands is feeling increasingly difficult! We all know that life requires evaluation at times, resulting in decisions to lay things down, so we can walk well. Yet there are times, when you have the capability to maintain the balance even with a high pile of books. The key tho, so any acrobat will tell you, in walking a balancing act is not to look down or to the side but straight ahead -focused on one spot.

The last few days I’ve felt myself starting to stumble, wobble and strive to figure out how to navigate all thats in our hands right now. Its felt ALOT. It is a lot! I’ve been so out of sorts and unable to focus on anything well. But last night in the dark of our bedroom as I lay talking (complaining!) to God, I heard him simply say ‘Where are your eyes Clare?’

This morning I got up and even with a loud and full to do list screaming for my attention…….I knew I needed to make the choice to first just sit and come into the presence of God. Not with my said to do list, not with pleads and requests – but just to BE with the One who knows me better than anyone else in this world. As I did, and chose to focus on nothing but Who God is – His goodness, kindness, love and grace – something started to shift and change in me.

Water flowing over rocks; close-up of Bighorn River; water cascade; Pure, Clean, Cold Water; Pristine water in the Rocky Mountains; Splashes; River; Refreshing; Nature; Intimate LandscapeAn image came to mind of a river flowing gentle over rocks on a river bed…..each area of that river bed was saturated and covered. God started reminding me of how He is like that river – He covers every single place, detail, person, thing……. not one spot is missed. I don’t need to panic or figure it out – He’s covered every last tiny detail both in the practical and in the realms of hearts and emotions too!


His presence is flowing over everything in our lives and as our eyes are fixed on Him, we are able to carry the loads in our hands. Not because we are super human or simply CAN but because HE CAN and will help each of us reach destinations ahead of us, with the rhythms of grace, strength, peace and the ability needed to do it well. Our job is simple – to keep our eyes fixed on Him everyday.  As we keep that focus, we can navigate the to do list, the emotions, the ups and downs – with no near toppling acts!!!

books on head

 

Leave a comment